Why Website Accessibility Matters in 2022 – accessiBe WordPress

Accessibility is a word that many people hear and understand, but not everyone knows what it means. Website accessibility means making sure that all users can access the content on your site in an easily readable format. This includes visual impairments such as blindness or low vision, hearing impairments like deafness or hard of hearing, and cognitive disabilities like dyslexia (all issues addressed in accessiBe WordPress). Following these guidelines will make your website more accessible to the widest possible audience.

The Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI) defines accessibility as “the design, development, and implementation of websites and applications, so they are usable by people with different types of disabilities.” This article will outline how to create a website that is ADA compliant, meeting Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act, and WCAG compliant.

1) What is a Section 508 Compliant Website?

ADA compliance refers to a website that complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, which all users can use. The act has since been updated in 2008, but the standard still applies to websites today.

The “technical standards” for accessible design included in Section 508 are Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG). A Section 508 compliant website meets the current standards of WCAG 2.0 at level AA compliance.

2) What is a WCAG Compliant Website?

The World Wide Web Consortium’s Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI) provides three levels of accessibility guidelines. Level 1, known as WCAG 1.0, was published in 1999, and Level 2, known as WCAG 2.0, was published in 2008. Level 3 is a work in progress and will provide expanded guidelines when released.

Generally speaking, level AA compliance means that the website has all the features necessary to provide the equivalent browsing experience for people with disabilities. Level AAA compliance means that all of the features are there, plus other additional features have been added to enhance the overall website experience.

3) What Are The Different Types Of Websites?

There are two basic types of websites: one-page sites and multiple-page sites. One-page sites are all built on HTML, CSS, and JavaScript, while multiple-page sites are either built upon a CMS application or have heavy use of Flash. Section 508 only applies to the former, which means that almost all websites are covered regardless of how many pages they contain.

4) How Can I Tell If My Site Is ADA Compliant?

There are two ways to determine whether your website is Section 508 compliant. One way is to check the code using the Web Accessibility Toolbox’s website compliance checker. The other way is through an accessibility audit, which a company specializing in this type of work can be done but will cost you money.

5) How Can I Make My Website Section 508 Compliant?

The process of making your website ADA compliant is known as accessible design. Two factors play a role in creating an accessible website: disability access and the use of universal design principles, which include compatibility, interoperability, and usability. The first step you should take is to ensure your website does not use any deprecated HTML elements. This will ensure that all browsers display your site in the best possible way and can be done using the W3C Markup Validation Service.

Related Articles

Back to top button